Camera Strap Cover

It’s time for vacation!! I haven’t posted a tutorial in awhile.  In truth, I’ve been busy.  I’ve made a lot of new bags for my Etsy shop and I finished up some lingering projects including five quilts! Pictures to follow in my next post.

I’m leaving on vacation in a matter of hours now.  And of course at the last minute I just HAD to make a camera strap cover.  As it turns out, it was simple and I am pretty proud of it 😉

photophoto (3) photo (1)

I used the tutorial found here. It is amazing and thorough.  I made my strap a little differently mostly based on the supplies I had.  This is a quick and easy project.  So, let’s get started:

For this project you will need:

a sewing machine

ruler

scissors or rotary cutter and mat

fabric for exterior and lining

coordinating thread

heavy fusible interfacing

Step 1) Cut your fabric and interfacing

Cut a strip of fabric measuring 24″ long and 4 1/4″ wide from each fabric.  *You’ll have to adjust the length measurement according to the strap you are covering.  I wanted mine to be long enough to cover all the brand labels.

Cut a piece of heavyweight interfacing to measure 23″ long and 2″ wide.  You want it to be a little smaller since it adds a lot of bulkiness.

*If you are using a lightweight interfacing you’ll want it to be the same size as your fabric strip (24″ long and 4 1/4″wide).

DSC_0112

*My mom’s name on the rotary cutter is very visible here hehe. Thanks for all the supplies you’ve donated mom!

Step 2) Attach your interfacing

Attach your interfacing to the wrong side of the lining fabric. I did not use iron on interfacing.  I stitched the interfacing to the lining fabric using a 1/8″ seam.

DSC_0116

Step 3) Sew the strips of fabric together

You should now have two pieces of fabric, one with interfacing attached.  With right sides facing, pin and sew along the long edge on each side using a 1/4″ seam allowance.

DSC_0118

Congratulations, you’ve created a weird fabric tube shaped thingy.  Keep going, you’re almost finished!

Turn your project right side out and press.

DSC_0121

Step 4) Sew the ends

Tuck the raw edges of each side under about 1/2″ and press.

DSC_0123 DSC_0124

Sew opening closed using a 1/4″ seam allowance.

DSC_0125

Step 5) Fold and sew the cover closed 

Fold the project in half lengthwise and press.  Sew along the unfolded edge using a 1/8″ seam.

DSC_0127

*Ignore the fact the seam is already sewn in the above picture.  I forgot to take a picture while in the process and I wasn’t about to take it all out!

That’s it! You’re finished! All you have to do is thread your camera strap through the cover.  I found it helpful to use a safety pin on the end of the camera strap to help feed it through.  It fits around my strap snugly but I like knowing it won’t shift around.  Now to go on vacation and put this sucker to good use! Send me a picture if you make one of your own.

DSC_0129-001

Leave a Reply

