Dongdaemun Market Happy Quilt

A few months ago, I went to Seoul with some friends.  I want to head to Dongdaemun Market in search of what else…fabric! I have accumulated a hoard of fabric while living here in South Korea, but I still need more!  Last time I went to Dongdaemun Market I wasn’t sure where to go and I went on a Sunday.  I found out when I got there that the market is mostly closed on Sundays.  I was still able to find fabric but it was upholstery weight. Great for making cushions, tote bags or curtains, but not what I was looking for.  So I did my research this time and headed out early on a Saturday to track down cotton fabrics.  Even with directions, however, I got lost.  I had read different blogs about where to find fabric.  Yet I wandered around the 5th floor without much luck.  The amount of stalls packed into these buildings is very overwhelming.  I found a few shops, one with interfacing and zippers (10 cents each on the ground floor of building B) but I still hadn’t found much fabric…until I ran into a fellow foreigner in search of the Happy Quilt stall. At this point I thought Happy Quilt was just a store outside of downtown Seoul that I could only dream about going to.  She pointed me in the direction of the Happy Quilt stall (it’s by the elevators on the 5th floor, stall 5215 in building B).  I had read her blog when doing my research on Dongdaemun and Happy Quilt .  How cool was that! Her blog is here. I was not disappointed. Here are some pictures my husband took as I shopped 😀 Yards of fabric for $3-5 each? In the words of my father-in-law…boo yah!!

photophoto (2) photo (1)

Leave a Reply

