Knitting Needle Roll-up Case

This is a project that has been on my to-do list for a long time. A few years ago my brother gave me a complete set of knitting needles (aww how sweet, right?). I had been using mismatched pairs and I was missing a lot of the different sizes. Now that I had the set I needed something pretty to keep them in. I recently ordered some fabric online from eBay in South Korea. I wasn’t sure what to expect but when it arrived it was amazing! The fabric came in sets of 3, with each fabric roughly the size of a fat quarter. I also ordered matching bias tape for a few of the fabrics. Cute!
DSC_0001

This was the first project I made with the fabric, here is the tutorial for the knitting needle roll-up case.

Here’s what you’ll need:
a sewing machine
scissors (or rotary cutter and mat)
ruler
a fat quarter of cotton fabric for lining
a fat quarter of cotton fabric for exterior
cotton batting
coordinating thread
3 yards of bias tape
pinking shears (optional)

Step 1) Cut your fabrics
Cut a piece of fabric for the exterior and lining to measure 12″ x 20″. Cut a piece of cotton batting the same size. If you are using a direction print, keep in mind that the longer edge of the fabric will be folded up to create the pocket.
DSC_0021

Step 2) Quilt the pieces of fabric
Sandwich the batting between the two pieces of fabric, right sides facing out. Pin the pieces together.
I chose to quilt using a chevron pattern, but you can choose whichever pattern you think would best suit your fabrics. One trick that my mom taught me, if you need to sew straight lines but don’t want to mark the fabric, use masking tape! It works really well. It was the only way I was able to machine quilt the Log Cabin Baby Quilt I made, using my machine…and a lot of masking tape. It’s great because you can peel it off easily, it doesn’t damage the fabric and if you happen to sew over it is a little (whoops!) it’s easy to fix. I used the masking tape as a guide to where the tops of my triangles should be. Here’s what my fabric sandwiched looked like:
DSC_0022

Step 3) Make the tie
Using the coordinating bias tape, I made the ties to close the roll-up. You could make your own bias tape or substitute it with ribbon, twill tape or ricrac. Cut a piece of bias tape (ribbon, ric rac, twill tape) that measures 30″. Fold the ends in 1/4″ and pin the bias tape together and sew down the open side to create a tie.
DSC_0029

Step 4) Attach the binding and the tie
Open up the bias tape. Pin the bias tape (right sides down onto the exterior fabric) around the fabric sandwich.
DSC_0025

I found a great blog about how to make your own bias tape and how to attach it here
I do mine slightly differently, but that’s a whole other tutorial!

To make an opening for the ties, start sewing on the long side of the rectangle 6″ down from the corner and sew in place using a 1/4″ seam allowance. Stop when you get 1/2″ from where you started.
Fold the tie in half. Take the tie by the folded edge and place it in the 1/2″ opening you created. Pin in place and sew the tie in place, backstitching at each end. The ties should be on top of one another. It should look something like this:
DSC_0031

Trim around the edges (with pinking shears) but be careful not to cut the seam. Fold the bias tape over the raw seams and pin in place. I like to hand sew the binding on using a slip stitch. You can choose to use your machine and topstitch along the edge of the bias tape, but I’ve never had good results. It always looks nice and straight on the side I’m working on but then when I turn it over…the other side looks wonky and it’s a mess to try to fix. Hand stitching is easy and quick for this small project.

Step 5) Create the pocket
With your fabric right side down, fold the bottom up 8″ to create the pocket. Pin it in place. Sew along each side, backstitching at each end.
DSC_0033
Your piece now measures 12″ by 12″, with the ties being in the middle like the above picture.

Step 6) Create the needle pockets
The next (and final!) step is to create the pockets for your needles. I had 14 needles sizes 5.0mm to 10.0mm. I would recommend pre-planning how many pockets you will need and how wide you want them to be. I used a 3/4″ width for the smaller needles and 1 to 1 1/4″ for the larger needles.
DSC_0034
Once you’ve got an idea about the number and size of pockets you need, go ahead and sew them. If you don’t have as many needles or you want your bag to be a little different you could consider making a pocket larger to hold a measuring tape and stitch markers. Sew straight lines, backstitching at each end. Test each pocket after you sew it to make sure the needle fits snugly. Trim the threads and you’re done!

Here’s some pictures of the finished product.
DSC_0036

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

This bad boy won’t be available for purchase on my Etsy site (I am keeping this one for myself!) but check back soon for more. http://www.etsy.com/shop/BrowniesAndBurgers

Please feel free to use my tutorial to make your own pouch for personal use only.

One thought on “Knitting Needle Roll-up Case

Leave a Reply

